Skip to main content


Gastroenterology (includes sub-specialty of Hepatology)

About the specialty

Gastroenterology training normally takes five years, one of which may be pure research while the remaining four years are usually combined with General Internal Medicine. At least one year in a busier hospital with different constraints from those in teaching hospitals is expected and six months at least of specialised liver disease training is also required.

The trained gastroenterologist will be able to develop and run endoscopy services for diagnostic, therapeutic and screening endoscopy. All trained gastroenterologists will be competent at upper and lower gastrointestinal (GI) endoscopy and some will have had additional training in hepatobiliary endoscopy. Most will be expected to participate in the acute medical receiving units of all cases including GI disease, and to be expert in the management of the broad range of gastrointestinal disease either in outpatients or following admission. Consultation and communication skills are important in addition to organisational and managerial training.

Entry into Gastroenterology training is possible following successful completion of both a foundation programme and a core training programme. There are two core training programmes for Gastroenterology training:

  • Internal Medical Training (IMT)
  • Acute Care Common Stem - Internal Medicine (ACCS-IM)


Latest news and developments

A new curriculum for dual training in Gastroenterology and Internal Medicine will be implemented in August 2022. Trainees already in training in 2022 will need to transfer to the new curriculum unless in their final year of training. Please refer to our transition page for further information. 


The curriculum for each specialty defines the process of training and the competencies needed for the award of a certificate of completion of training (CCT). The curriculum includes the assessment system for measuring trainees’ progress, comprising workplace based assessment and knowledge based assessment.

Information on the European Specialty Examination in Gastroenterology and Hepatology (ESEGH) can be found on the MRCP(UK) website.

A new curriculum for Gastroenterology has been approved by the GMC (subject to a number of actions) and was implemented in August 2022.

Gastroenterology 2022 Curriculum

The previous curriculum appears below. Earlier versions are no longer available online but copies can be requested from







ARCP Decision Aids

The ARCP decision aid for each specialty defines the targets that have to be achieved for a satisfactory ARCP outcome at the end of each training year. The ARCP decision aid for the new 2022 curriculum is given below.

Gastroenterology ARCP 2022 Decision Aid

The decison aid below should be used for trainees remaining on the previous curriculum.