Skip to main content



We are pleased to confirm that the new format (also previously referred to as PACES23) has now been introduced from the third Diet of 2023*. All information and guidance on the following PACES pages refers to the new format of the exam.

*PACES23 will be introduced for candidates sitting in Singapore from early 2024.


The MRCP(UK) Part 2 Clinical Examination (Practical Assessment of Clinical Examination Skills - PACES) is designed to test the clinical knowledge and skills of trainee doctors who hope to enter higher specialist training (ST3). You must have passed the Part 1 written exam within the last 7 years before taking PACES. The exam sets rigorous standards to ensure your competence across a range of skills and you are ready to provide a high standard of care to patients.

For details about dates, fees and where you can take the exam see:

What's involved in PACES?

You are assessed on your ability to carry out essential clinical skills. There are five clinical stations where there are either patients with a given condition, or trained stand-ins (surrogates). At each station, there are two independent examiners who will observe and evaluate the candidates' performance.

PACES at a glance

  • half-day examination
  • takes place in a clinical setting (hospital or clinical skills centre)
  • assesses seven core skills
  • five stations (see carousel diagram)
  • eight patient encounters

For more information see the below resources